I don't brush my teeth everyday and know why I am not Crazy

Belladonnaoflavender
3 min readNov 19, 2020

the tooth paste- tooth brush romanticisation

I don't mean to demean the dentists or detest hygiene, because I DO BRUSH my teeth every once in a while but the pandemic made me do two things which I had never planned on- Reading myself to death on researching about breaking off from the norms which don't seem to dwell well with my sapio.

Its really simple. I am not here to argue on the cons but the pros and these pros don't necessarily emanate from my research but from my sense of well being which is not blinded by customs and corporative agendas. Every person on this planet is doing some activity which is in excess and not necessary. Like,

Brushing your teeth

Brush the F out

If you eat food from 21st century and maintain oral hygiene like a caveman, there can be numerous health and well being problems. But by trial and error, I figured that even though I smoke and eat shit, drink less water, I don't brush my teeth if I feel fresh and these premature death activities are sustainable for that week. Weekly, I do Oil pulling, also known as “kavala” or “gundusha,” is an ancient Ayurvedic dental technique that involves swishing a tablespoon of oil in your mouth on an empty stomach for around 20 minutes. This action supposedly draws out toxins in your body, primarily to improve oral health but also to improve your overall health. And I apply salt+oil(any) to my teeth instead of brushing my teeth with toothpaste which is an everyday dance of dismal with ingredients such as Fluoride. Most individuals might already know that too much fluoride can cause fluoride…Triclosan.…Sodium Lauryl Sulphate (SLS) …Propylene Glycol….Dafuq

Instead of brushing what are the alternatives?

It's the same as saying that OMG You don't floss!!!

“But I dont think even my ancestors did. What's flossing?”

“You can't be serious, Shalini”

Frankly, not brushing is said to be the lesser evil of the two. Not flossing is considered a crime in the dental world. Dental would go mental everytime they knew that Indians don't really know what's flossing and why to know about it. We are doing pretty well without it. Without an extra added hole in our pocket. Not counting the environmental suffocation by plastic toothbrushes that nobody talks about. Plastic has so fully infiltrated toothbrush design that it’s nearly impossible to clean our teeth without touching a polymer. And because plastic is essentially indestructible, that means nearly every single toothbrush made since the 1930s is still out there in the world somewhere, living on as a piece of trash.

Assuming you pay 100 bucks , that’s an effective $2920 a year that can potentially go to toothbrushes, assuming you aren't one of those robotic mentalities, who without questioning these norms has been using the same tooth brush of 100 bucks since last 100 weeks. Gosh, there the hygiene implication is at its worst and it is arguably more dangerous, if that's the adjective we are using than not brushing your 32 sets. Using a mouthwash is potentially as dangerous. And I got backing of the finest to back up my Listerine’s blistering.

list of natural alternatives to conventional toothpaste

By no means is this article trying to influence you, but I maintain my stance that an average person who doesn't have a long list of dental problems, can surely do better within the environment they live by using bamboo made or natural tooth brushes like neem and ditch the tooth paste- tooth brush romanticisation.

What are your views?

Follow me on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Also, if you haven't yet- do subscribe to my newsletter- Its sub heading says- sapio waali feelings. Get it, my wunderchild?

XOXO

--

--

Belladonnaoflavender

Amazon Blogger Of The Month 2020 I Write/Review/Hygge/Binge watch/Research . Read 2.5 K📖 then stopped counting °♌ "Manuka Tint" & Sontag's Sis